I’ll Run Again Tomorrow

It’s been a struggle, a humbling experience to say the least. I’ve been working out quite vigorously to try to lose those silly fifteen pounds that I’ve gained this past year. Trust me, thirty pounds would have been worth gaining for the people, visions, sights, and miracles. Either way, I’ve been working out so that  I can work out. I’ve been running those horrifically sluggish 2.8 mile runs so that in time, I can run like this guy or something…

My mile time is just a few digits higher than Roger’s brilliant dash. No matter how much I increase my stride, try to maintain pristine cadence, or tackle some impulse sprints, I can’t seem to break that time. It’s killing me, but I have to accept the fact that I’ve experienced a physical backslide. I’ve got to keep on going again and again, and yet again to surmount this feat.

As my kicks were scurrying around the neighboring neighborhood early this morning, I made a simple discovery. I’ve known it all along and have encountered this revelation many breath-heavy instances before. Today, it all made much more sense. I’ve got to keep going. I’ve got to keep running, but I’ve also got to keep at it in every other sense.

On account of resting in Christ, loving those around me, being diligent in prayer, keeping close communion with the Holy Spirit, and everything else.

I’ve known this. You’ve known this.

May we keep going again and again, and yet again. May we not lose heart because of our current circumstances, for He holds it all. May we not be discouraged when we fail to meet a standard, because He has set us free from regulation. May we not beat ourselves up for making the same mistake again. Starting over is definitely alright. He’s taking us from glory to glory.

“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.”  -2 Corinthians 3:17-18

I really do love running and look forward to the day when I can once again tackle an enjoyable few hours on a Saturday morning. Tomorrow, I shoot for just fifteen seconds faster. Heck, I’m just going to run again.

Leave a comment